Nine Inch Nails Album Due On Sept. 21 - 08/27/1999

(8/27/99, 1 a.m. PDT) - Nine Inch Nails' new single, "We're In This Together," arrives at radio stations via satellite today. Meanwhile, the act's new album, The Fragile, is due on Sept. 21. The double-disc set features 23 tracks.

Band mastermind Trent Reznor, who produced the album with Alan Moulder, says, "There was no settling involved with the making of this record. I wanted to try new things, fully utilizing the studio while putting more effort into the melody and structure. As a fan, I want to listen to something more than just singles and filler. I want something that I can listen to a million times, trying to get more out of it with each spin. That's the record I tried to make here."

The album was recorded at Nothing studios in New Orleans. Alert to collectors: the cassette and vinyl pressings of the album will be slightly different from the CD.

-- Darren Davis, New York